3. Financial Aid Programs

The Kentucky Postsecondary Education Improvement Act of 1997 (Act) created KCTCS, governed by the KCTCS BOR, as the ninth higher education institution in Kentucky. The general duties of the BOR include the adoption of rules and regulations for the government of its members, officers, agents, and employees (see KRS 164.350).

The sixteen colleges that comprise the KCTCS system qualify to participate in Title IV programs because they meet the definition of an eligible institution as an institution of higher education. This can be substantiated with the individual college Program Participation Agreement (PPA), Eligibility and Certification Approval Report (ECAR), Southern Associations of Colleges and Schools (SACS), or Kentucky Council on Postsecondary Education (CPE). Program eligibility information is available to enrolled and prospective students upon request.

Since each college completes the PPA separately, the local Financial Aid Director is responsible for tracking when they must undergo recertification of its eligibility and any additional changes that must be reported such as new programs, additional locations, or changes in administrators.