Finalists Announced for the Kentucky Community and Technical College System Presidency

Kentucky Community and Technical College System (KCTCS) Board Chair Mr. Barry Martin announced today the finalists for the position of KCTCS President. “We were overwhelmingly thrilled with candidates received in this search,” said Chair Martin, “and we are excited to announce these extraordinary finalists.”

The finalists are:

Dr. Dean McCurdy, Provost and Senior Vice President for Academic Affairs, Ivy Tech Community College of Indiana.

Dr. Beverly Walker-Griffea, President, Mott Community College, Flint, Michigan.

Dr. Ryan Quarles, Kentucky Commissioner of Agriculture.

Regent James Lee Stevens, who served as co-chair of the committee along with Regent Brianna Whitten (a faculty member at Maysville Community and Technical College) stated, “We know the importance of this position. We know both the obstacles and opportunities that are ahead and we are excited to work with a new president to bring KCTCS into its next chapter for the good of the Commonwealth.”

The candidates are scheduled to visit the System Office in Versailles, KY, to meet with KCTCS Board of Regents, the 16 College Presidents, and for a virtual forum with faculty and staff systemwide. The KCTCS Board of Regents is statutorily charged with choosing a President to lead the System and the selected candidate is expected to begin no later than January 1, 2024.

Information about the schedule, along with photos and credentials of the finalists, are forthcoming and will be published here: Presidential Search | KCTCS. The Association of Governing Boards assisted KCTCS with the national search.